Will Energy enters the IndyCar record book following win in St. Petersburg: Electrical power is a single of just two drivers to win the last two races of one season, and the opener of the subsequent

Energy is one particular of just 2 drivers to win the final 2 races of one particular season, and the opener of the next

By: Autoweek Employees on April 1, 2014

Gordon Johncock is the other driver.

LAT PHOTOGRAPHIC – Will Electrical power has the exclusive distinction of currently being one particular of just 2 IndyCar drivers to win the last 2 races of one particular season, and then the opener of the subsequent.

Will Electrical power and Gordon Johncock now have anything a lot more in typical than 20-plus Indy vehicle victories.

On March thirty, Electrical power joined Johncock (1977-78) to become the only drivers in the present day era (because 1946) to win the last 2 races of 1 season and the opener of the next.

Power backed up his efforts on the temporary course in Houston and the 2-mile Car Club Speedway in October with a dominating victory in the season-opening Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

It really is a modest streak in sports activities, but taken in the context of the Verizon IndyCar Series’; depth of competitors, it’;s nonetheless amazing. Power has also won 4 of the previous 6 races, whereas registering 4 best-5 finishes in the preceding 14 races.

“You certainly start to seem pretty hard when you have a lengthy time period of not winning,” mentioned Power, who won for the second time at St. Petersburg. “You just can’;t get complacent. You have got to maintain functioning hard, specifically in this series. There is so numerous great teams, excellent drivers.

“You just reset, just understand that you can not leave something on the table. I was speaking to Mark Webber at some stage, ‘Did you get rid of a little bit of motivation in your 30s?’; He explained to me, ‘You can not child your self. You’;ve received to work tough. It is just the way it is. If you happen to be not, somebody else is.’;

“Which is correct. You got to get every little thing appropriate in this business or you will not win.”

Power won 3 consecutive races in 2012, and will aim be the 10th Indy car driver to make it 4 in a row April 13 in the 40th Toyota Grand Prix of Lengthy Beach. Sébastien Bourdais in the 2006 Champ Car season was the last to win 4 consecutive races.

Energy has won at least 1 race in 8 consecutive seasons in Champ Automobile and IndyCar, joining Rick Mears, Bobby Rahal and Al Unser Jr.

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon, who finished 4th in the opener, Michael Andretti and Johnny Rutherford every single have 9 consecutive winning seasons. Hélio Castroneves, runner-up to Dixon in the championship final season and who started out this season with a podium, is the all-time leader with a win in eleven consecutive seasons (2000-2010).

With the early factors benefit, Energy can set his sights on the 2 ambitions he treasures most: winning his 1st Indianapolis 500 and his initial series title.

“At times I have started out here and been so conservative,” Power explained. “I just want to race, race difficult, and I want to win. That is the only way to think of it, not believe of points. I want to win a championship, but I like winning races. Hopefully the 2 come with each other and it takes place.”

A footnote: Al Unser had fairly a run in 1970 and ’;71, and only Swede Savage in the 1970 finale on Nov. 21 at Phoenix interrupted Unser’;s streak of 8 wins in the 9 races in excess of the 2 USAC seasons. Unser, who commenced from the pole on the 1-mile oval, finished second in the 150-lap race in the No. 2 Johnny Lightning 500 Colt/Ford TC. He kicked off 1971 with consecutive wins at Rafaela, Argentina (doubleheader) and Phoenix.

Indicator up to have the Autoweek Everyday Racing report, Racing Weekend Wrap-Up, Every day Drive and Breaking News delivered right to your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *