Formula Drift kicks off 11th season on Streets of Long Beach

Formula Drift Streets of Long Beach 2014

The 2014 Formula Drift series kicked off final weekend in Lengthy Beach, and noticed Chris Forsberg, who you are going to recall went mad and drifted close to a warehouse in an Infiniti M, get the title behind the wheel of his Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z (shown over).

Forsberg truly ran away with the first round of competitors, outscoring his closest opponent, 2nd-area finisher Kenneth Moen and his Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX, by 20 points. Third area was 2013 championship winner Michael Essa and his Yokohama BMW M3, 30.5 points behind Forsberg.

In the manufacturers’; title, Nissan took an early lead with 122 points, which isn’;t a huge shock thinking about 5 of the best 10 drifters had been piloting either a Z or a merchandise of the brand’;s S platform. Ford, which had 2 drivers (Justin Pawlak and Vaughn Gittin, Jr.) in the best 10, took home 2nd spot, while BMW is at present third in the manufacturers’; standings.

While it looks like Forsberg and Nissan are pulling out an early lead, there are 6 far more occasions in this year’;s championship. The next contest is set for Might 9th and 10th at Street Atlanta. You can check out out the entire Formula Drift routine at the series’; homepage.

We had photographer Drew Phillips on hand for the Lengthy Seaside contest. Consider a appear at his gallery of smoking tires and sideways autos at the prime of the page. You can also scroll down for the full results right from Extended Seaside.

Long Beach, Calif. – April 6, 2014 – Formula DRIFT presented by GoPro kicked-off the very first event of the 2014 season with Round 1: Streets of Lengthy Beach to a sold out crowd. Chris Forsberg in the Hankook Tire Nissan 370 Z takes the victory and the lead in the chase for the championship.

Round one: Streets of Lengthy Beach started out off the eleventh season of Formula DRIFT to a promote out crowd. In excess of twenty,000 supporters gathered to experience the drifting action and pleasure on the popular Streets of Extended Seaside Grand Prix course. The Dailymotion Livestream partnership saw over 230,000 special viewers watch the Driftstream above the occasion weekend with over 1 million views in a 24 hour period.

“It is genuinely a fantastic feeling to see not only the live event attendance expand steadily year after yr, but also the global Driftstream audience,” says Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “We pride ourselves in being capable to offer enjoyment to this kind of a younger, engaged and tech-savvy audience.”

Consistent driving helped propel Chris Forsberg to the top of the podium to earn the season’;s first victory and championship factors lead. Forsberg faced Norway’;s Kenny Moen in the Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX in the ultimate battle and after a shut decision the judges awarded Forsberg the win. The prime qualifier and 2013 defending champion, Michael Essa in the Essa Autosport / Yokohama Tire BMW M3 rounded out the podium with third area.

“It feels wonderful to be on prime of the podium, specially here at the 1st round of the eleventh season of Formula DRIFT,” said Chris Forsberg, winner of Round one: Streets of Long Beach. “We will attempt to keep the momentum with our new changes and get the championship home.”

The 2014 Formula DRIFT season continues with Round 2: Street to the Championship on Could 9-10 at Street Atlanta. For more details check out: and uncover Formula DRIFT on Instagram @formulad, Facebook and Twitter @FormulaD.

Formula DRIFT Championship Presented by GoPro 2014 Standings After 1 Round
1. Forsberg, Chris Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 104.50 Factors
2. Moen, Kenneth Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX 84.50 Points
3. Essa, Michael Essa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 74.00 Factors
4. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang 68.50 Factors
5. Aasbo, Fredric Hankook Tire Scion Racing tC 52.50 Points
6. Wang, Forrest Get Nuts Lab / Hankook Tire / STR Racing Nissan S14 51.00 Factors
7. Bakchis, Aurimas Feal Suspension / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX 51.00 Points
7 McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Nissan S14 51.00 Factors
9. Gittin Jr., Vaughn Monster Power / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR 39.50 Factors
8. McQuarrie, Tyler GoPro / Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro 38.00 Points
11. Goodin, Pat Enjuku Racing Nissan 240SX 35.00 Factors
twelve. Tuerck, Ryan Retaks / Maxxis Tires / Air Force Scion FR-S 35.00 Factors
twelve. Grunewald, Conrad Megan Racing / Leading one Oil / BRE Chevrolet Camaro 35.00 Points
13. Mohan, Kyle GT Radial / Energy-X Mazdatrix RX-8 35.00 Factors
15. Baribeau, Mats Gold in the Net Toyota Mark II 33.50 Factors
sixteen. Mertzanis, Dennis Hyundai Genesis Legato AR1 33.50 Factors
17. DeNofa, Chelsea BC Racing / Nitto Tire BMW 3-Series twenty.50 Points
18. Mordaunt, Patrick Hyundai Genesis Legato AR7 19.00 Points
19. Kearney, Dean ORACLE Lighting SRT Viper 17.50 Factors
twenty. Gushi, Ken GReddy Functionality / Scion Racing Drift FR-S V2 17.50 Factors
21. Nishida, Robbie Achilles Radial / Bridges Racing Lexus SC300 17.50 Factors
22. Castro, Jhonnattan Progreso Nissan 370Z 17.50 Points
23. Hohnadell, Alec Enjuku Racing Nissan S14 17.50 Points
24. Saito, Daigo Achilles Radial Lexus SC430 17.50 Points
25. Rydquist, Carl Street Race Engineering / Berk Nissan 350Z 17.50 Points
26. Yoshihara, Daijiro Falken Tire / Discount Tire Subaru BRZ 17.50 Factors
27. Jones, Jeff CX Racing Nissan S14 17.50 Factors
28. Landreville, Marc Marc Landreville Racing Nissan S14 17.50 Points
29. Stoneback, Geoff GSR Nissan S14 17.50 Factors
30. Angelo, Tony Tangelo Racing Scion FR-S 17.50 Factors
31. Briggs, Dave Achilles Radial / Turbo by Garrett Nissan S14 17.50 Points
32. Richter, Jeremy Jeremy Richter Racing Nissan S13 17.50 Factors
Round 1: Streets of Long Beach Event Outcomes
one. Forsberg, Chris Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z Winner
2. Moen, Kenneth Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX 2nd Place
3. Essa, Michael Essa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 3rd Area
Makers Championship Standings Right after One Round
one. Nissan 122.00 Points
2. Ford 108.00 Factors
3. BMW 94.50 Factors
4. Scion 87.50 Points
5. Chevrolet 73.00 Factors
6. Lexus 35.00 Factors
6. Mazda 35.00 Points
8. Toyota 33.50 Factors
9. Hyundai 19.00 Factors
10. Dodge 17.50 Points
Tire Championship Standings Right after One Round
one. Hankook 157.00 Points
2. Falken 119.50 Factors
3. Achilles 102.00 Points
4. Nitto 90.50 Points
5. Yokohama 74.00 Points
6. Kenda 52.50 Points
6. GT Radial 35.00 Points
6. Maxxis 35.00 Factors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *